FitbuildBuild apps with AI, no coding experience needed
Menu

GitHub Copilot vs Replit

A decision for a beginner, not a spec sheet. Scores are our weights. Prices are the public plans, and anything marked verify on the tool page should be re-checked before you pay.

The call

  • GitHub Copilot: IDE extension, github.com, agent, and CLI. Replit: Browser IDE with Agent, hosting, and a database.
  • If you do not want to read code, Replit is the closer fit.
  • GitHub Copilot has the lower verified individual paid plan: Pro at $10/mo.
  • On the kind of project, these two are close. Budget and where you want to work should break the tie.

Pick GitHub Copilot if you want an assistant inside VS Code, JetBrains, or GitHub.

Pick Replit if you are learning by building a web app, script, or simple browser game in one place.

Take the quiz

GitHub Copilot

An IDE assistant at $10 a month, if you already live in GitHub.

Cheapest verified paid plan: Pro · $10/mo

Pick it when

  • A developer who wants an assistant inside VS Code, JetBrains, or GitHub
  • Staying near $10 a month
  • Web app and script work where you already have the repo open

Leave it when

  • Building a SaaS from a browser prompt with hosting included
  • No-code landing pages
  • Native mobile or game production

Replit

A browser IDE and agent, closest thing here to an all-in-one starter.

Cheapest verified paid plan: Core · $20/mo

Pick it when

  • Learning by building a web app, script, or simple browser game in one place
  • People who want an IDE without installing one
  • A project that needs hosting and a database next to the agent

Leave it when

  • Native mobile apps
  • Large private codebases you already maintain elsewhere
  • Anyone who needs a precise monthly price before the pricing page is re-checked

Where the weights differ

Web app or SaaS

GitHub Copilot4/5
Replit4/5

Mobile app

GitHub Copilot2/5
Replit2/5

Game

GitHub Copilot2/5
Replit3/5

Website or landing page

GitHub Copilot3/5
Replit3/5

Automation or script

GitHub Copilot4/5
Replit4/5

No code

GitHub Copilot1/5
Replit4/5

I can follow a change

GitHub Copilot4/5
Replit5/5

I already develop

GitHub Copilot5/5
Replit4/5

GitHub Copilot plans

Last verified 2026-10-19

Free

Individual

Free

Verify

A limited free tier. The plans FAQ still lists 2,000 completions and 50 chat requests. The billing docs say 2,000 completions a month plus an AI credit allowance whose size is not stated, with auto model selection only.

The free price is real. On 2026-10-19 the chat allowance and the credit allowance still disagree across GitHub's own pages, so this row stays verify.

Pro

Individual

$10/mo

Verified

1,500 AI credits a month (1,000 base + 500 flex). Completions and next edit do not use credits. 1 credit = $0.01.

From GitHub's usage-based billing docs for individuals.

Pro+

Individual

$39/mo

Verified

7,000 AI credits a month (3,900 base + 3,100 flex). Completions stay unlimited.

Flex allotments can change. Base credits are tied to the subscription price.

Max

Individual

$100/mo

Verified

20,000 AI credits a month (10,000 base + 10,000 flex).

The individual plan for sustained agent work.

Replit plans

Last verified 2026-10-19

Starter

Individual

Free

Verified

Daily Agent allowance and Free Mode with a daily cap. One published app, listed as 30-day on the Core comparison table. Built-in database. Exact daily credit count is not a single published number.

The 30-day publish window is on the Core plan comparison table. The daily credit count is still not one published number.

Core

Individual

$20/mo

Verify

On 2026-10-19 the pricing page showed $18/mo billed annually next to $20. The page still mixes the subscription price, the annual rate, and the $20 credit line.

$20 toward more powerful models. The pricing page listed up to 30 hours of Free Mode chat and up to 60 projects on Free Mode. Credits do not roll over.

Core docs list 1 active background task. The pricing page on 2026-10-19 did not print a parallel-task count. The $20 subscription figure is used for matching and marked verify because the page layout mixes it with the annual rate and the credit line.

Pro

Individual

$100/mo

Verify

The pricing page showed $90/mo billed annually on 2026-10-19.

$100 toward more powerful models, more Free Mode usage, up to 15 collaborators, and database rollback up to 28 days. Docs say unused credits roll for two months.

The $100 list price is consistent. The $90 annual rate is marked verify with the rest of this card because the pricing page markup is easy to misread.

When GitHub Copilot runs out

Monthly. Included credits do not roll over. Base credits are used before the flex allotment.

Wait for the monthly reset.

When Replit runs out

Starter keeps a daily cap. Core and Pro Free Mode allowances reset every five hours and also have weekly limits, per Replit's plan docs. Core credits reset each billing cycle and do not roll over. Pro credits roll for two months.

Stay in Free Mode for everyday agent work. Power and Max spend credits and Replit asks before a paid action.

Full limit playbook

Questions people actually ask

Which is cheaper, GitHub Copilot or Replit?

GitHub Copilot's cheapest paid plan the ranking counts is Pro at $10/mo. Replit's cheapest paid plan the ranking counts is Core at $20/mo. Replit Core is marked verify.

Who is GitHub Copilot for?

GitHub Copilot is for a developer who wants an assistant inside VS Code, JetBrains, or GitHub, staying near $10 a month, and web app and script work where you already have the repo open.

Who is Replit for?

Replit is for learning by building a web app, script, or simple browser game in one place, people who want an IDE without installing one, and a project that needs hosting and a database next to the agent.

Which is a better fit if I do not want to read code, GitHub Copilot or Replit?

GitHub Copilot scores 1 out of 5 for someone who does not want to read code. Replit scores 4 out of 5. Replit has the higher no-code score. Copilot assumes an editor. It is the wrong first tool if you do not want files. Agent can carry a beginner, and you are still looking at an IDE. Expect files.

Do GitHub Copilot and Replit have free plans?

GitHub Copilot: Free is real, with a tight cap. The plans FAQ still says 2,000 completions and 50 chats. A later billing post describes limited completions plus limited chat and agent usage. Confirm the live counter. Replit: Daily Agent credits and Free Mode with a daily cap, a built-in database, and one published project. The pricing page does not state one universal credit number.